Phone: +7 (495) 645–94–79 *6497

Fax: +7 (495) 532–13–65


Other news

21st Annual WWER Forum Meeting

The 21st annual meeting of the Forum of the State Nuclear Authorities of the Countries Operating WWER Type Reactors (WWER Forum) took place on June 16 to 18, 2014, in Helsinki, Finland. The Rostechnadzor delegation headed by State Secretary - Deputy Chairman Alexey Ferapontov attended the meeting.

The WWER Forum meeting was also attended by heads and experts of the nuclear safety authorities of Armenia, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Finland, Hungary, India, Slovakia and Ukraine, and also representatives of Germany and the IAEA as observers.

During the WWER Forum meeting, the participants reported on the most significant and interesting safety events at the WWER NPPs , and shared information on recent changes in the area of nuclear and radiation safety regulation in their countries for the period since the 20th WWER Forum meeting that took place in December 2013, in Kanyakumari, India.

Information on action plans of a new working groups established to follow the resolutions of the 20th WWER Forum meeting was presented. These are a reactor physics working group and a working group for safety regulation during commissioning of new NPPs, which will be coordinated by Russia and India, respectively. The working group for probabilistic safety analysis whose mandate was extended by the 20th WWER Forum meeting for the next three years and made a report. The working group for fabrication quality and safety demonstration of nuclear fuel for WWER NPPs, which concluded its work earlier in 2014, reported on results of its activities.

The participants of the meeting discussed a possibility of expanded membership in the WWER Forum and decided to invite the countries which have plans to construct and operate WWERs in their territories to take part in the proceedings of the Forum as observers.

The next WWER Forum meeting will take place in Armenia and be chaired by the Armenian Nuclear Regulatory Authority presumably in July 2015.